top of page
  • ciarakeating

11/21/23 Interdisciplinary Interaction Design Reading

The assigned reading concerns the best practices for designing online experiences and what design choices should be avoided. Below is the advice from the reading that stood out to me the most.


Best Practices

Good menu navigation should be limited to 7 options as according to the reading a person's memory span can only hold about seven objects.


The entry point of your website should look appealing and the options should be made clear to prevent the user from experiencing decision fatigue and abandoning your site altogether. Along this same vein, the reading suggests your drop-down menu options be single-column and limited for the same reason. I know from my own experinece that websites with large confusing multi-columned drop-down menus annoy me and I have given up on searching for this reason before. Also when I have visited websites where the main landing page was confusing and cluttered making it difficult/frustrating for me to find what I need I have given up.


Your site should have a grid, hierarchy and rhythmically flow with content intent. The reading goes over different styles of grids used in design that can be used depending on a site's content and purpose. This also aligns with the principles we talked about in the graphic design print class and I find it interesting how physical media design principles apply and influence digital media design.




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

11/30/23 Typography Reading

Typographic Hierarchy is important for visual designers as it can completely change the way the viewer understands and interacts with the...

11/28/23 Gallary Practice

LINK ONE: https://homepages.utoledo.edu/ckeatin3/galOne.html LINK TWO: https://homepages.utoledo.edu/ckeatin3/galTwo.html

コメント


bottom of page